Simplified Guide How to Apply for EWS Certificate in India

How to apply for ews certificate in india


Obtaining an Economically Weaker Section (EWS) certificate in India is crucial for individuals seeking to avail themselves of various government schemes and benefits. This article aims to provide a comprehensive and easy-to-follow guide on how to apply for an EWS certificate, empowering citizens with the necessary information to navigate the application process effectively.

Understanding the EWS Reservation Policy

The EWS reservation policy was introduced in India in 2019 to provide economic assistance and reservation benefits to individuals belonging to economically weaker sections of society. It is applicable in education, employment, and various government welfare programs. To avail these benefits, individuals need to obtain a valid EWS certificate issued by the competent authority.

Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for an EWS certificate, individuals must meet certain eligibility criteria. The applicant’s family income should not exceed the specified limit set by the government. Additionally, the applicant’s family should not possess any assets such as agricultural land, residential properties exceeding the prescribed area, or any other assets mentioned in the eligibility guidelines.

Required Documents

To apply for an EWS certificate, applicants need to gather and submit a set of essential documents. These documents generally include proof of identity, address proof, income certificate, and other supporting documents such as ration card, voter ID, Aadhaar card, and photographs. It is important to ensure that all the documents are valid and up to date.

Application Process

The application process for obtaining an EWS certificate may vary slightly from state to state. Generally, applicants can follow these steps

  • Visit the local Tehsildar Office or designated authority responsible for issuing EWS certificates.
  • Collect the application form, either online or offline, and fill it out accurately.
  • Attach the necessary documents along with the application form.
  • Submit the completed application form and supporting documents to the designated authority.
  • Pay the prescribed application fee, if any, as specified by the authority.
  • Obtain an acknowledgment receipt as proof of submission.

Verification and Issuance

After submitting the application, the designated authority will initiate the verification process. This typically involves scrutinizing the documents provided and conducting a thorough inquiry to verify the authenticity of the information provided. Once the verification is complete, the EWS certificate will be issued to the applicant.

Validity and Renewal

EWS certificates are usually valid for a specific period, as determined by the respective state government. To continue availing the benefits, it is crucial to renew the certificate before its expiration. The renewal process may require individuals to submit updated income certificates and supporting documents.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rule of EWS?

Candidate’s annual family income must be less than Rs. 8 lakhs per annum. Their family must not own more than 5 acres of agricultural land. The residential flat area should be below 1000 sq ft.

How many types of EWS certificate are there?

There is only one EWS certificate which is termed as Economically Weaker Section Certificate.


Applying for an EWS certificate in India is a vital step for individuals seeking economic assistance and reservation benefits. By following the steps outlined in this guide, applicants can navigate the application process smoothly and obtain the necessary documentation to avail themselves of various government schemes and opportunities.

Read Also :  How to Make Detox Water Refreshing Recipes for a Healthy Lifestyle